awards & achivements


  • Winner, British Association of Spinal Surgeons / British Scoliosis Society Presidents’ Travelling Fellow, 2015
  • Winner, 2nd Place Prize; Sherlock KE, Elsayed S, Turner W, Jehan S, Bagouri M, Baha L, Boszczyk BM, McNally D The evaluation of digital rectal examination for assessment of anal tone: Oral presentation, BritSpine 2012. Also nominated for one of three Value Awards at North American Spine Society, Dallas, Oct 2015
  • Winner, Lecturer of the Year, Joint 1st Place, Miller UK Orthopaedic Review Course 2012
  • Winner, 2nd Place Prize (Nottingham Deanery), UKITE 2011
  • Winner, Best Poster; Lloyd J, Elsayed S, Hariharan KH, Tanaka H Revisiting the concept of talar shift in ankle fractures poster presentation at Welsh Orthopaedic Society, May 2005; also presented (oral) at The Malkin Meeting, Nottingham
  • Winner, 2nd Place Prize (Nottingham Deanery), UKITE 2010
  • Distinction in Anatomy, 1995
  • Winner, Pfizer Prize for Science 1995
  • Winner, Pfizer Prize for Science 1994


  • Founder of NMC Spine, UAE – 2019
  • Founder of Spine Score – 2019
  • Co-Founder of NSpine – 700 people involved in Year 1 to great acclaim;
  • Co-Founder & Convenor of Miller Review Course, United Kingdom, now in its sixth year
  • Co-Founder of Professional Medical Education, personally teaching over 11,000 delegates
  • Former Founding member of Sussex Orthopaedic Research Group
  • Former Executive Committee Member, British Association of Spine Surgeons
  • Former Lead Clinician for Spinal Surgery, Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals
  • International Editor Miller Review of Orthopaedics, 6th Edition, The Seminal Orthopaedic Text
  • Nominated and selected from Spinal Surgeons across Europe to form part of 29-member European Spine Think-Tank, 2012
  • Ambassador, City of Nottingham, United Kingdom, since 2013
  • Ambassador, City of Brighton & Hove, United Kingdom, since 2015